Try Albato automations with your favorite apps
HubSpot + Slack

In this article
In this article
The three platforms split along one axis that pricing pages hide: how each one handles an action that needs a decision. Zapier and Make both bolt AI agents onto a separate surface, while Albato lets the agent run as a single step between a trigger and an action. That structural choice changes how much branching you build by hand.
Before the per-platform detail, here is how the three compare on the factors that decide most purchases: pricing model, app coverage, AI features, and who each one suits.
| Platform | Pricing model | App coverage | AI features | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zapier | Task-based, from $19.99/mo (annual, 750 tasks); Team from $69/mo (2,000 tasks) | 9,000+ integrations | Zapier Agents run across the app catalog from a separate agent workspace | Non-technical users who want the widest app catalog and fast setup |
| Make | Credit-based, Core from $9/mo (10,000 credits); annual saves 15%+ | 3,000+ apps | Make AI Agents (beta) sit alongside Make Grid | Technical teams building visual, multi-step scenarios |
| Albato | Transaction-based, Pro from $15/mo (annual); extra transactions $0.033 each | 1,000+ integrations, plus a no-code App Integrator to add missing apps | AI Agent step inside the automation; model options include Albato AI (proprietary, not disclosed), OpenAI, DeepSeek, Gemini | Teams that want predictable pricing and a native AI-agent step |
Each platform earns its place for a different reason. Zapier wins on catalog size and low-friction setup, Make on visual control over complex logic, and Albato on price plus a built-in AI Agent. The sections below cover the strengths, the trade-offs, and who each one fits. If you are new to the category, start with our explainer on iPaaS.

Zapier is the most widely used automation platform, known for its ease of use. It connects apps through "Zaps", which pair a trigger with one or more actions.
Best for: Non-technical users who want fast, straightforward automation with the widest app coverage.

Make takes a different approach. Instead of linear Zaps, it uses scenarios built on a drag-and-drop canvas with branches, filters, and conditions.
Best for: Technical teams that need to build complex automation logic quickly.

Albato is an automation platform with a clean builder and strong built-in tools. It supports 1,000+ apps and offers a no-code App Integrator that lets users add their own missing apps. Workflows are step-based but include advanced options like routers, iterators, aggregators, and error handling.
App Integrator. A tool to create custom app integrations without coding, which offsets the smaller catalog.
Built-in tools. Router, Iterator, Aggregator, Delay, Error Handler, and JavaScript.
Clear interface. A simple builder that balances power and usability. It also has a built-in AI Agent step that picks the right action on its own (see the AI agents comparison below).
Solutions library. Ready-made scenario packs for quick setup.
Best for: Teams that need solid automation features and want the flexibility to add missing apps without writing code.
Pricing splits three ways: Zapier charges per task, Make per credit, and Albato per successful transaction. That difference matters more than the headline price, because the cheapest sticker can still cost the most once a busy workflow runs thousands of times a month.
The Professional plan starts at $19.99/month (billed annually) for 750 tasks and scales with task volume. The Team plan runs $69/month (annual) for 2,000 tasks. Each action step in a Zap counts as one task, so a 3-step workflow running 1,000 times uses 3,000 tasks. Triggers and built-in utilities like Filter and Formatter do not consume tasks.
The Core plan starts at $9/month with 10,000 credits (annual billing saves 15%+); the Pro plan is $16/month. Make uses credit-based billing: each module execution costs one credit for standard actions, while AI and complex operations can cost more.
Paid plans separate the workspace plan from the transaction package. The Pro plan starts at $15/month (billed annually) with transaction packages scaling separately, and additional transactions cost $0.033 each. You are charged only for successful steps.
All three platforms now ship AI agents, so the question is no longer who has one but what the agent can do inside a workflow. Zapier Agents run across its app catalog from a separate agent workspace, built with the help of Zapier Copilot. Make AI Agents (beta) sit alongside Make Grid. Albato takes a different route: the AI Agent is a step you drop straight into a regular automation, between a trigger and an action.
You add the agent after a trigger (a new CRM record, a webhook, a schedule), then give it three things: a model, plain-language instructions, and the tools it can call. The model can be Albato AI (built in, proprietary and not disclosed) or an external provider you connect yourself, such as OpenAI, DeepSeek, or Google Gemini. Albato exposes around 5,000 actions the agent can use as tools, so instead of wiring fixed filters and routers, the agent reads the incoming data and decides which action to run. It can fill an action's fields by itself with "Let the AI agent decide" and keep optional memory for chatbot-style flows.
Billing is easy to predict: an AI Agent run costs 3 transactions regardless of how many tools it has, and the built-in Albato AI model adds 1 transaction per 2,000 tokens. External models carry no token surcharge on Albato's side, only the provider's own cost.
💡 Tip
Lead qualification, data enrichment, and smart routing that would take a long chain of conditions in Zapier or Make become one adaptive step in Albato. That is the practical payoff of an in-workflow agent over a separate agent surface.
That matters for this comparison: work that would need many branches elsewhere collapses into a single step here. Try it on Albato's free plan.
The screenshot above is the actual instructions panel: you describe the task in plain language and the agent works out the steps at runtime. That is the practical difference from a fixed Zap or Make scenario, where every branch has to be mapped ahead of time.
Here is the short version of Zapier vs Make vs Albato, so you can match the platform to your priority.
Easiest to start with, no steep learning curve
Largest app library, with 9,000+ integrations
Reliable for simple, popular automations
Best for users who want speed and convenience
Downsides: Gets expensive with high task volume (Professional starts at $19.99/month for 750 tasks, and the 2,000-task Team plan runs $69/month)
Handles complex workflows with multiple steps and conditions
Visual editor helps map and understand processes
Better for data-heavy tasks like transformations, filters, and branching
Cheaper than Zapier at scale
Downsides: Steeper learning curve for beginners
More affordable than Zapier at comparable usage
Good balance between ease of use and flexibility
A native AI Agent step and built-in tools (Router, Iterator, Aggregator) for adaptive workflows
Collaborative features for small teams
Downsides: Smaller app library, offset by the no-code App Integrator
1. What is the difference between Zapier and Make? Zapier is simpler and better for beginners, connecting apps through linear Zaps. Make is more advanced, with a visual canvas for building complex, multi-step automation. Zapier bills per task; Make bills per credit.
2. Why is Albato a strong alternative to Zapier or Make? Albato gives end users more control at a lower entry price. Its no-code App Integrator lets you add apps that are not officially supported, without programming. Built-in tools like Router, Iterator, Aggregator, and Error Handler let you build complex workflows while keeping them manageable, and the AI Agent step handles decisions that would otherwise need many branches.
3. Is Make cheaper than Zapier? Often yes. Make's Core plan starts at $9/month for 10,000 credits, and its credit-based billing tends to be more cost-effective for power users than Zapier's task-based model.
4. How do task counts work in Zapier vs. Make vs. Albato? Zapier counts each action step as one task, and triggers are free. Make counts each module execution as one credit. Albato counts each successful automation step as one transaction. A 3-step workflow running 100 times would use 300 tasks on Zapier, 300 credits on Make, or 300 transactions on Albato.
5. Do these platforms have AI features? All three ship AI agents. Zapier has Zapier Agents that run across its app catalog from a separate workspace. Make has Make AI Agents (beta) alongside Make Grid. Albato has a built-in AI Agent step that runs inside your automations, with model options that include its own Albato AI plus OpenAI, DeepSeek, and Gemini.
Choosing the right automation platform in 2026 comes down to your top priority: the widest app coverage and simplest setup point to Zapier, visual control over complex logic points to Make, and predictable pricing with a native AI-agent step points to Albato. For teams that want to automate daily work without runaway bills, Albato offers an affordable balance of power and ease.
Read more:
Hand-picked content and zero spam!

Compare AI voice agents for small business support in 2026: Rosie, Goodcall, Frontdesk, Aircall, Retell AI and Fin Voice, with real prices and helpdesk links.

Compare 8 MCP servers giving Claude Code and Cursor codebase context: Context7, Sourcegraph, CodeAlive, DeepWiki, GitHub MCP Server, Serena, Augment, Greptile.

Compare 9 demo automation tools for B2B SaaS: interactive tours from Storylane, Navattic, Supademo and Arcade, the Naoma AI demo agent and enterprise platforms.

Compare 10 Google Maps scrapers that also find emails: Outscraper, Apify, SocLeads, Octoparse, Lobstr.io and more, by email method, free tier and price.

Compare 8 SendGrid alternatives for startups: Postmark, Mailgun, UniOne, Amazon SES, Brevo, Mailtrap, SMTP2GO and Resend by free tier, price and EU options.

Compare 9 AI transcription tools for meetings, interviews, lectures and podcasts: free plans, billing per minute, per file or flat, languages and exports.

Compare the best shared inbox software in 2026: Front, Hiver, Help Scout, Missive, Gmelius, Drag and more, with per-user prices and CRM connections.

Compare 8 AI data analytics tools for business teams in 2026: Power BI, ThoughtSpot, Julius AI, Zoho Analytics, Hex and more, with prices and AI features.

Compare 5 AI demo agents that present your product live and 3 interactive demo tools with AI agents: where each runs, what buyers see, published prices.

7 Shopify agencies for custom and public apps, checkout extensions on Shopify Plus and theme builds, with published prices and what each one ships.

7 agencies that move Bubble apps to custom code, plus what Bubble exports, how to move user passwords, and each agency's published prices and timelines.

Explore the state of voice AI in 2026. Discover benchmark metrics, implementation challenges, proven use cases, and how to evaluate production readiness.